2021/22 PhD Student Representatives

 

CollegeSchoolNameEmail
CoASSCS Education Greata Westerwald G.Westerwald1@nuigalway.ie
  English & Creative Arts Ruairí Kennedy r.kennedy18@nuigalway.ie
  Geography, Archaeology & Irish Studies

Maeve Mc Gandy (Geography)
Una (Margaret) Kavanagh (Irish Studies)

M.MCGANDY1@nuigalway.ie
m.kavanagh13@nuigalway.ie 
  History & Philosophy Pat Farrell P.FARRELL14@nuigalway.ie
  Languages Literatures & Culture SU Election  
  Political Science & Sociology Lennita Ruggi l.ruggi1@nuigalway.ie
  Psychology Emma Corley
Nikolett Warner

E.CORLEY1@nuigalway.ie
nikolett.warner@nuigalway.ie

CoBPPL Business & Economics Mike Maguire M.MAGUIRE22@nuigalway.ie
  Law Beatrice Canossi
Rania Muhareb

B.CANOSSI1@nuigalway.ie
r.muhareb1@nuigalway.ie

CoMNHS Health Sciences Ailsa Baumgartner
Divya Ravikumar

A.Baumgartner1@nuigalway.ie
d.ravikumar1@nuigalway.ie

  Medicine Benazir Abbasi  b.abbasi2@nuigalway.ie
  Nursing & Midwifery Aisling Hill  a.hill4@nuigalway.ie
CoSE Biological & Chemical Sciences Rosy Polisicchio (Chemistry)
Guillermo Palop Clares (Chemistry)
Shane Grant (Chemistry)
R.Polisicchio1@nuigalway.ie

G.PALOPCLARES1@nuigalway.ie
S.GRANT1@nuigalway.ie

  Computer Sciences SU Election  
  Engineering SU Election  
  Mathematics Peter Phelan  P.Phelan3@nuigalway.ie
  Natural Sciences Declan Morrissey (Zoology) D.MORRISSEY4@nuigalway.ie
  • Academic Council is the chief academic authority and, subject to review by Údarás na hOllscoile, controls the academic affairs of the University, including the curriculum, instruction and education provided by the University.  Each September, two PG students are elected for this committee. The term is for one year. 
  • Údarás na hOllscoile the University's governing authority, is responsible for managing and controlling all of the affairs of the University (Governing Authority).  Each January each year, elections take place for Postgraduate student representation on this committee. The term is one year from the 1st February.  
  •  Graduate Studies Board
    Details on the Graduate Studies Board is covered in section 2.2 of the University Guidelines for Research Degree Programmes. The Students’ Union Postgraduate Officer is on this Board and if required, another graduate student nominated by the Students’ Union (on an annual basis).
  • Vice Deans of Graduate Studies and PGR College Contacts
  • Postgraduate Research Society - Please check out link NUI Galway Postgrad Facebook