IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908

ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 ACHT NA nOLLSCOILEANNA, 1997

OLLSCOIL NA hÉIREANN, GAILLIMH

REACHT CCCV

Irish Universities Act, 1908

Acht Choláiste Phríomh-Scoile na Gaillimhe, 1929 Universities Act, 1997

National University of Ireland, Galway

STATUTE CCCV

WE, Údarás na hOllscoile of National University of Ireland, Galway, under and by virtue of the powers in that behalf conferred on us by the above Acts, DO by this present instrument under the Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, make the Statute contained in the Schedule hereto for the general government of the said University.

Given under the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, this twenty-fifth Day of June, Two Thousand and Eight.

Present when the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, was affixed hereto:



James J. Browne, Uachtarán Séamus Mac Mathúna, Rúnaí

Schedule - STATUTE CCCV

All previous Statutes of National University of Ireland, Galway, shall be read and construed with the alterations, additions and modifications hereinafter set forth.

CHAPTER I

COLLEGES

1. There are hereby established in the University the following Colleges:

The College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies
The College of Business, Public Policy and Law
The College of Science
The College of Engineering and Informatics
The College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences.

 Each of the foregoing Colleges shall comprise Schools and Divisions as set out in Chapter II of this Statute.

CHAPTER II

SCHOOLS AND DIVISIONS

The aforesaid Colleges shall comprise Schools and Divisions as follows:

The College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies

The School of Geography and Archaeology

The School of Humanities

The School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

The School of Education

The Division of Behavioural and Social Sciences, which shall incorporate

- The School of Psychology

- The School of Political Science and Sociology.

The College of Business, Public Policy and Law

The J.E. Cairnes School of Business and Economics The School of Law.

The College of Science

The School of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics

The School of Natural Sciences

The Division of Physical Sciences, which shall incorporate

- The School of Chemistry

- The School of Physics.

The College of Engineering and Informatics

The School of Engineering and Informatics.

The College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

The School of Medicine
The School of Nursing and Midwifery
The School of Health Sciences.

 The distribution of the disciplines in each of the said Colleges between the aforesaid Schools and the membership of the said Schools shall be as set out in Regulation from time to time.

CHAPTER III

DEAN

- 1. Each of the aforesaid Colleges shall have a Dean as executive officer, who shall be responsible to the Registrar and Deputy-President for the academic and administrative affairs of the College, in accordance with the policy of the University and following due consultation with the Heads of the Schools or Divisions of the College.
- 2. The Dean shall be appointed by the President for a four-year term, following adoption by the College of the report of an Interview Board established for that purpose.

CHAPTER IV

HEAD OF SCHOOL OR DIVISION

- 1. Each of the aforesaid Schools and Divisions shall have a Head, who shall be appointed in a manner to be set out in Regulation.
- The Head of the School or Division shall be responsible to the Dean of the relevant College for the academic and administrative affairs of the School or Division, in accordance with the policy of the University and following due consultation with the members of the School or Division.
- 3. All members of the academic staff of the School or Division shall carry out their teaching and other duties under the direction of the Head of the School or Division. All members of the technical, administrative, secretarial and ancillary staff appointed for duty in the School or Division shall carry out their duties under the direction of the Head of the School or Division. Notwithstanding and without prejudice to the foregoing, each School or Division may adopt such additional internal operational arrangements as may be deemed appropriate by the School or Division.
- 4. The Head of the School or Division shall carry out the duties of the Head of School or Division under the direction of the Dean of the relevant College.

CHAPTER V

1. The following provisions of previous Statutes and Regulations are hereby revoked:

Statute XVII - Chapter XI

Statute XCIX - Chapter I

Statute CLI - Chapter I

Statute CCXXXIII - Chapter I

Statute CCXXXIX - Chapter I

Statute CCXL - Chapter I

Statute CCXLII - Chapter I

Statute CCLX - Chapter I

Statute CCLXXXIII - Chapters II and III

Regulation 1/89 - Chapter I and II

Regulation 1/90 - Chapter I

Regulation 2/90 - Chapter I

Regulation 3/90 - Chapter I

Regulation 1/2001 - Chapter I.

- All references to 'Faculty' or 'Faculties' in Statutes CCIII, CCLV, CCLXIX, CCLXXXIV, CCLXXXV, CLXXXVIII, CCXC, CCXCIII and CCXCVI shall be construed as references to 'College' or 'Colleges', respectively.
- All references to 'Department' or 'Head of Department' in all previous Statutes
 or Regulations shall be construed as references to 'School or Division' or 'Head
 of School or Division', respectively.

CHAPTER VI

- Nothing herein contained shall affect any appointment made, right acquired or act done under any previous Statute of the University.
- 2. This Statute shall come into operation on the first day of September, Two Thousand and Eight, and may be cited as Statute CCCV, National University of Ireland, Galway, or Stat. CCCV, Nat. Univ. of I., Galway.

Present when the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, was affixed hereto: (L.S.)

James J. Browne, *Uachtarán* Séamus Mac Mathúna, *Rúnaí*