IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908

ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 ACHT NA nOLLSCOILEANNA, 1997

OLLSCOIL NA hÉIREANN, GAILLIMH

REACHT CCCXX

Irish Universities Act, 1908

Acht Choláiste Phríomh-Scoile na Gaillimhe, 1929 Universities Act, 1997

National University of Ireland, Galway

STATUTE CCCXX

WE, Údarás na hOllscoile of National University of Ireland, Galway, under and by virtue of the powers in that behalf conferred on us by the above Acts, DO by this present instrument under the Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, make the Statute contained in the Schedule hereto for the general government of the said University.

Given under the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, this sixteenth Day of December, Two Thousand and Ten.

Present when the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, was affixed hereto:



James J. Browne, *Uachtarán* Séamus Mac Mathúna, *Rúnaí*

Schedule - STATUTE CCCXX

All previous Statutes of National University of Ireland, Galway, shall be read and construed with the alterations, additions and modifications hereinafter set forth.

CHAPTER I

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COLLEGES

- 1. Pursuant to the provisions of Chapters I and II of Statute CCCV, each member of academic staff, other than visiting academic staff and persons who hold an adjunct or honorary appointment in the University, in each of the disciplines of the Schools set out under the respective Colleges in Chapter I of Regulation 3/2010, or as that Regulation may be amended hereafter, shall be a member of the said College.
- 2. Each member of the academic staff, other than visiting academic staff and persons who hold an adjunct or honorary appointment in the University, Research Institutes or Centres set out under the respective Colleges in Table A of this Chapter, and who is not a member of a College by virtue of his/her membership of a School in accordance with the provisions of Regulation 3/2010, shall be a member of the said College.
- 3. The members of a College shall include one member nominated annually by each of the Schools or disciplines, respectively, set out under the respective Colleges in Table B of this Chapter.
- 4. Each holder of a post of University Fellow (Teaching and Research) in a School shall be a member of the respective College as set out in Chapter I of Regulation 3/2010, or as that Regulation may be amended hereafter.
- 5. Each member of the technical, administrative, secretarial and ancillary staff appointed for duty in a School shall be a member of the respective College as set out in Chapter I of Regulation 3/2010.
- The members of a College shall include one registered undergraduate student elected annually by and from among the undergraduate class representatives in the said College and one registered postgraduate student elected annually by and from among the postgraduate class representatives in the said College, provided that the aforesaid members of the College shall not be entitled to be present or to vote during consideration by the College of academic appointments or of matters which relate to specific students, and provided further that each of the aforesaid members of the College shall cease to be a member of the said College when (s)he ceases to be a registered undergraduate student or postgraduate student, as the case may be, of the said College.

TABLE A

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies

The Moore Institute for Research in the Humanities and Social Studies

College of Business, Public Policy and Law

The Centre for Innovation and Structural Change

College of Science

The National Centre for Biomedical Engineering Science The Ryan Institute

College of Engineering and Informatics

The Digital Enterprise Research Institute

TABLE B

The College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies

The J.E. Cairnes School of Business and Economics

The School of Law

The School of Engineering and Informatics

The School of Health Sciences

The School of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics

The School of Nursing and Midwifery

The College of Business, Public Policy and Law

The School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

The School of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics

The School of Engineering and Informatics

The College of Science

The School of Medicine

The School of Health Sciences

The J.E. Cairnes School of Business and Economics

The School of Law

The School of Engineering and Informatics

The School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

The School of Geography and Archaeology

The School of Humanities

The School of Psychology

The School of Nursing and Midwifery

The discipline of Anatomy

The discipline of Pharmacology and Therapeutics

The discipline of Physiology

The College of Engineering and Informatics

The School of Chemistry

The School of Mathematics, Statistics and Applied Mathematics

The School of Natural Sciences

The School of Physics

The J.E. Cairnes School of Business and Economics

The School of Law

The School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

The School of Political Science and Sociology

The School of Psychology

The School of Medicine

CHAPTER II

- 1. Nothing herein contained shall affect any appointment made, right acquired or act done under any previous Statute of the University.
- 2. This Statute shall come into operation on the sixteenth day of December, Two Thousand and Ten, and may be cited as Statute CCCXX, National University of Ireland, Galway, or Stat. CCCXX, Nat. Univ. of I., Galway.

Present when the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, was affixed hereto:



James J. Browne, *Uachtarán* Séamus Mac Mathúna, *Rúnaí*