IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908

ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 ACHT NA nOLLSCOILEANNA, 1997

OLLSCOIL NA HÉIREANN, GAILLIMH

REACHT CCLXVIII

Irish Universities Act, 1908

Acht Choláiste Phríomh-Scoile na Gaillimhe, 1929 Universities Act, 1997

National University of Ireland, Galway

STATUTE CCLXVIII

WE, Údarás na hOllscoile of National University of Ireland, Galway, under and by virtue of the powers in that behalf conferred on us by the above Acts, DO by this present instrument under the Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, make the Statute contained in the Schedule hereto for the general government of the said University.

Given under the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, this twenty-seventh day of June, Two Thousand and One.

Present when the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, was affixed hereto:



Iognáid Ó Muircheartaigh, *Uachtarán* Séamus Mac Mathúna, *Rúnaí*

SCHEDULE - STATUTE CCLXVIII

All previous Statutes of National University of Ireland, Galway, shall be read and construed with the alterations, additions and modifications hereinafter set forth.

CHAPTER I

VICE-PRESIDENTS

- Statute CCXVI, as amended by Statute CCLVI, is hereby further amended by the substitution of the following Sections for Sections 1, 2(a) and 3 of Chapter I therein:
 - "1. There are hereby established in the University such, and so many, Offices of Vice-President, subject to a maximum of three, as Údarás na hOllscoile, on the recommendation of the President, may from time to time determine.
 - 2(a) The Vice-Presidents shall be appointed by Údarás na hOllscoile. The Vice Presidents shall be appointed on the recommendation of the President, save in the case of one Vice-President, who shall be appointed on the nomination of the Academic Council made on the recommendation of the President and following consultation between the President and the Registrar and Deputy-President.
 - 3. The Vice-Presidents hereafter appointed shall hold office for such period not exceeding four years as may be determined from time to time by Údarás na hOllscoile and may be reappointed for a second term for such period not exceeding four years as may be determined from time to time by Údarás na hOllscoile. No person shall serve as Vice-President for an aggregate period of more than eight years, provided that in the event of a person's being appointed to fill a casual vacancy in an Office of Vice-President no account shall be taken of the remainder of his/her predecessor's term."

CHAPTER II

- Statute CCXVIII, Chapter III is hereby amended by the substitution of the following Section for Section 1 therein:
 - "1. There shall be a University Management Team, consisting of the President, the Registrar and Deputy-President, the Bursar, the Vice-Presidents, the Secretary and the Dean of Research. Its functions may be determined by Regulation."

CHAPTER III

- Nothing herein contained shall affect any appointment made, right acquired or act done under any previous Statute of the University.
- This Statute shall come into operation on the twenty-seventh day of June, Two Thousand and One, and may be cited as Statute CCLXVIII, National University of Ireland, Galway, or Stat. CCLXVIII, Nat. Univ. of I., Galway.

Present when the Common Seal of National University of Ireland, Galway, was affixed hereto:



Iognáid Ó Muircheartaigh, Uachtarán Séamus Mac Mathúna, Rúnaí