# IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908 ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 COLÁISTE NA HOLLSCOILE, GAILLIMH

REACHT CCXLIII

# **IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908**

# ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929

### UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, GALWAY

#### STATUTE CCXLIII

WE, the Governing Body of University College, Galway, under and by virtue of the powers in that behalf conferred on us by the above Acts, DO by this present instrument under the Seal of University College, Galway, make the Statute contained in the Schedule hereto for the general government of the said College.

Given under the Common Seal of University College, Galway, this thirtieth day of October, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-six.

Present when the Common Seal of University College, Galway, was affixed hereto:



Patrick F. Fottrell, *Uachtarán* Séamus MacMathúna, *Rúnaí* 

#### SCHEDULE - STATUTE CCXLIII

All previous Statutes of University College, Galway, shall be read and construed with the alterations, additions and modifications hereinafter set forth.

P.N. 3217

#### CHAPTER I

# DEPARTMENT OF GEOLOGY

- 1. There shall be a Department of Geology which shall comprise the Professorship of Geology, the Associate Professorship of Geology, the existing Lectureships, College Lectureships and Junior Lectureships in Geology together with any such other Professorships, Lectureships, College Lectureships and Junior Lectureships as the Governing Body, after due consultation with the Head of the Department, the Departmental Committee (as defined in Section 5 of this Chapter), the relevant Faculty or Faculties and the Academic Council, may decide in the future, provided always that the holders for the time being (if any) of such other Professorships and Lectureships assent in writing thereto.
- 2. The Department shall be administered by the Head of the Department. In the administration of the Department he/she shall consult on a regular basis with the Departmental Committee, in particular in relation to matters arising for consideration under Sections 6, 8 and 9 of this Chapter. It shall be the responsibility of the Head of Department to ensure that appropriate arrangements for the administration of the Department are put in place during his/her absence from the Department.
- 3. The Head of Department, except the first Head, shall be appointed in the manner prescribed by this Chapter from among the Professors, Associate Professors and Lecturers of the Department. The period of office of the Head of Department shall be three years. The Head of Department may be reappointed for a further period of three years.
- 4. The first Head of Department shall be the Professor of Geology appointed in succession to the Professor of Geology who will retire from the Professorship of Geology in 1996. Each subsequent Head shall be appointed according to a scheme agreed by the Departmental Committee, or, in the absence of agreement, by the President after consultation with the Departmental Committee and the Deans of the Faculties of the College.
- 5. The Departmental Committee shall comprise the Head of Department who shall be its Chairperson, together with the other Professors (including Associate Professors), Lecturers, College Lecturers and Junior Lecturers of the Department. The Committee shall meet not less than twice per term.
- 6. All members of the academic staff of the Department, and all members of the technical, administrative, secretarial and ancillary staff appointed for duty in the Department, shall carry out their duties under the direction of the Head of the Department.
- 7. The individual Professors (including Associate Professors), Lecturers, College Lecturers and Junior Lecturers of the Department shall have the right to make due, direct representations to the appropriate bodies and authorities of the College.

- 8. Office and laboratory accommodation shall be assigned to each member of academic staff in the Department in accordance with the norms and procedures of the College. The remaining teaching, laboratory and other accommodation shall be Departmental facilities, and their use shall be determined by the Head of Department, subject to the approval of the President.
- 9. At a meeting of the Departmental Committee in the Michaelmas term of each academic year the Head of Department shall present a report on the expenditure of the funds allocated to the Department in the previous year. Proposals for expenditure on capital equipment and the recurring costs of the Department shall be presented on a departmental basis to the appropriate College authority by the Head of Department. Such funds as may be granted to the Department by the authority shall be allocated by the Head of Department.
- 10. Except for any proposals introduced by the Governing Body for the better government of the College, proposals for changes in the terms of this Chapter will only be considered by the Governing Body after their consideration by the relevant Faculties and the Academic Council: PROVIDED that no change will be considered within the period of two years from the taking up of duty by the first Head of Department, and PROVIDED that proposals for changes are signed by all of the serving members of the Departmental Committee. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisos, no statutory right of any individual shall be infringed.
- 11. The statutory provisions herein set forth shall be subsumed into the Conditions of Appointment and Particulars of Duties of the existing statutory and non-statutory members of the academic staff of the Department of Geology who have assented in writing to such changes in the conditions of appointment attaching to their present posts as may be necessitated by the statutory provisions herein set forth.

# THAT IS TO SAY:

Prof. P. Ryan, Associate Professor of Geology Dr. M. Williams, Lecturer in Geology Dr. D. Harper, College Lecturer in Geology Dr. M. Feely, College Lecturer in Geology.

12. The statutory provisions herein set forth shall be further subsumed into the Conditions of Appointment and Particulars of Duties of the future statutory and non-statutory members (if any) of the academic staff of the Department of Geology.

## **CHAPTER II**

- Nothing herein contained shall affect any appointment made, right acquired or act done under any previous Statute of the College.
- This Statute shall come into operation on the thirtieth day of October, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-six, and may be cited as Statute CCXLIII, University College, Galway, or Stat. CCXLIII, Univ. Coll., Galway.

Present when the Common Seal of University College, Galway, was affixed hereto:

1



Patrick F. Fottrell, *Uachtarán* Séamus MacMathúna, *Rúnaí*