# IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908 ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 COLÁISTE NA HOLLSCOILE, GAILLIMH

REACHT CCXLII

# **IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908**

# ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, GALWAY

## STATUTE CCXLII

WE, the Governing Body of University College, Galway, under and by virtue of the powers in that behalf conferred on us by the above Acts, DO by this present instrument under the Seal of University College, Galway, make the Statute contained in the Schedule hereto for the general government of the said College.

Given under the Common Seal of University College, Galway, this thirtieth day of October, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-six.

Present when the Common Seal of University College, Galway, was affixed hereto:



Patrick F. Fottrell, *Uachtarán* Séamus MacMathúna, *Rúnaí* 

#### SCHEDULE - STATUTE CCXLII

All previous Statutes of University College, Galway, shall be read and construed with the alterations, additions and modifications hereinafter set forth.

P.N. 3216

#### CHAPTER I

#### THE SCHOOL OF IRISH

- 1. There shall be a School of Irish which shall comprise the Professorship of Modern Irish, the Professorship of Old and Middle Irish and Celtic Philology, an Ollúnacht le Litríocht na Nua-Ghaeilge, an Ollúnacht le Canúnaíocht na Gaeilge, an Chomhollúnacht le Sean- agus Meán-Ghaeilge agus Teangeolaíocht Cheilteach, an Chomhollúnacht le Nua-Ghaeilge, the existing Lectureships, College Lectureships and Junior Lectureships in Nua-Ghaeilge, Sean- agus Meán-Ghaeilge, Gaeilge na hAlban, and the other Celtic languages, together with any such other Professorships, Associate Professorships, Lectureships, College Lectureships and Junior Lectureships as the Governing Body, after due consultation with the Head of the School, the School Committee (as defined in Section 5 of this Chapter), the relevant Faculty or Faculties and the Academic Council, may decide in the future, provided always that the holders for the time being (if any) of such other Professorships and Lectureships assent in writing thereto.
- 2. The Head of the School shall administer the School. In the administration of the School (s)he shall consult regularly with the School Committee, in particular in relation to matters arising for consideration under Sections 6, 8 and 9 of this Chapter. It shall be the responsibility of the Head of the School to ensure that appropriate arrangements for the administration of the School are put in place during his/her absence from the School.
- 3. The Head of the School (except the first Head) shall be appointed by the President from among the Professors, Associate Professors and Lecturers of the School, on the recommendation of the School Committee according to a scheme agreed by the School Committee. In the absence of agreement, (s)he shall appoint the Head of the School, following consultation with the School Committee. The period of office of the Head of the School shall be three years. The Head of the School may be reappointed for a further period of three years. This appointment will not normally be extended into a third successive period.
- 4. The first Head of the School shall be the existing Professor of Modern Irish.

(1)

5. The School Committee shall comprise the Head of the School, who shall be its Chairperson, together with the other Professors, Associate Professors, Lecturers, College Lecturers and Junior Lecturers of the School. The Committee may co-opt, on an annual basis, other members to be members of the School Committee. Stiúrthóir na Gaeilge Labhartha shall be allowed to attend meetings of the School. Stiúrthóir na Gaeilge Labhartha shall work under the direction of the Head of the School in relation to such of his/her work as concerns the academic affairs of the School. The Committee shall meet not less than twice per term.

- 6. (a) Each member of the academic staff of the School shall carry out his/her duties under the direction of the Head of the School, subject to review by the Academic Council and the Governing Body, as appropriate.
  - (b) Each member of the technical, administrative, secretarial and ancillary staff appointed for duty in the School shall carry out his/her duties under the direction of the Head of the School.
- 7. The individual Professors, Associate Professors, Lecturers, College Lecturers and Junior Lecturers of the School shall have the right to make due, direct representations to the appropriate bodies and authorities of the College.
- 8. Office accommodation shall be assigned to each member of academic staff in the School in accordance with the norms and procedures of the College. The assignment and use of the other space and equipment facilities of Áras na Gaeilge shall be determined, subject to the approval of the President, by Coiste Stiúrtha Áras na Gaeilge, of which the Head of the School shall be a member.
  - 9. At a meeting of the School Committee in the Michaelmas term of each academic year the Head of the School shall present a report on the expenditure of the funds allocated to the School in the previous year. Proposals for expenditure on capital equipment and the recurring costs of the School shall be presented to the appropriate College authority by the Head of the School. Such funds as may be granted to the School by the authority shall be allocated by the Head of the School.
  - 10. Except for any proposals introduced by the Governing Body for the better government of the College, proposals for changes in the terms of this Chapter will only be considered by the Governing Body after their consideration by the relevant Faculties and the Academic Council: PROVIDED that no change will be considered within the period of two years from the taking up of duty by the first Head of the School, and PROVIDED that proposals for changes are signed by not less than two-thirds of the serving members of the School Committee. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisos, no statutory right of any individual shall be infringed.
  - 11. The statutory provisions herein set forth shall be subsumed into the Conditions of Appointment and Particulars of Duties of the existing statutory and non-statutory members of the academic staff who have assented in writing to such changes in the conditions of appointment attaching to their present posts as may be necessitated by the statutory provisions herein set forth.

#### THAT IS TO SAY:

An tOllamh Breandán Ó Madagáin, Ollamh le Nua-Ghaeilge
An tOllamh Anders Ahlqvist, Comhollamh le Sean- agus
Meán-Ghaeilge agus Teangeolaíocht Cheilteach
An tOllamh Nollaig Mac Congáil, Combollamh le Nua-Ghaeilge
An Dr. Pádraig Ó Héalaí, Léachtóir le Nua-Ghaeilge
An Dr. Donncha Ó hAodha, Léachtóir le Sean- agus Meán-Ghaeilge
An Dr. Gearóid Denvir, Léachtóir Coláiste le Nua-Ghaeilge
An Dr. Mícheál Mac Craith, Léachtóir Coláiste le Nua-Ghaeilge
An Dr. Cáit Ní Dhomhnaill, Léachtóir Coláiste le Nua-Ghaeilge
Máirtín Ó Briain, Léachtóir Sóisearach le Nua-Ghaeilge
Mark Wringe, Léachtóir Sóisearach le Gaeilge na hAlban.

12. The statutory provisions herein set forth shall be further subsumed into the Conditions of Appointment and Particulars of Duties of those (if any) hereafter appointed as statutory or non-statutory members of the academic staff of the School of Irish.

## **CHAPTER II**

- 1. Nothing herein contained shall affect any appointment made, right acquired or act done under any previous Statute of the College.
- 2. This Statute shall come into operation on the thirtieth day of October, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-six, and may be cited as Statute CCXLII, University College, Galway, or Stat. CCXLII, Univ. Coll., Galway.

Present when the Common Seal of University College, Galway, was affixed hereto: L.S.

Patrick F. Fottrell, *Uachtarán* Séamus MacMathúna, *Rúnaí* 

