IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908 ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 COLÁISTE NA HOLLSCOILE, GAILLIMH

REACHT CCXXXIII

IRISH UNIVERSITIES ACT, 1908

ACHT CHOLÁISTE PHRÍOMH-SCOILE NA GAILLIMHE, 1929 UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, GALWAY

STATUTE CCXXXIII

WE, the Governing Body of University College, Galway, under and by virtue of the powers in that behalf conferred on us by the above Acts, DO by this present instrument under the Seal of University College, Galway, make the Statute contained in the Schedule hereto for the general government of the said College.

Given under the Common Seal of University College, Galway, this twenty-fourth day of May, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-five.

Present when the Common Seal of University College, Galway, was affixed hereto: L.S.

Colm Ó hEocha, *Uachtarán* Séamus MacMathúna, *Rúnaí*

SCHEDULE - STATUTE CCXXXIII

All previous Statutes of University College, Galway, shall be read and construed with the alterations, additions and modifications hereinafter set forth.

P.N. 1669

CHAPTER I

DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS

- 1. There shall be a Department of Mathematics which shall comprise the Professorship of Mathematics, the Professorship of Statistics, the existing Associate Professorships of Mathematics and the existing Associate Professorship of Statistics, the existing Lectureships, College Lectureships and Junior Lectureships in Mathematics and in Statistics, together with any such other Professorships, Lectureships, College Lectureships and Junior Lectureships as the Governing Body, after due consultation with the Head of the Department, the Departmental Committee (as defined in Section 5 of this Chapter), the relevant Faculty or Faculties and the Academic Council, may decide in the future, provided always that the holders for the time being (if any) of such other Professorships and Lectureships assent in writing thereto.
- 2. The Department shall be administered by the Head of the Department. In the administration of the Department (s)he shall consult on a regular basis with the Departmental Committee, in particular in relation to matters arising for consideration under Sections (6), (8) and (9) of this Chapter. It shall be the responsibility of the Head of Department to ensure that appropriate arrangements for the administration of the Department are put in place during his/her absence from the Department.
- 3. The Head of the Department, excepting the first Head, shall be appointed in the manner prescribed by this Chapter from among the Professors, including the Associate Professors, of the Department. The period of office of the Head of Department shall be three years. The Head of Department may be reappointed for a further period of three years. This appointment will not normally be extended into a third period.
- 4. The first Head of Department shall be the Professor of Mathematics appointed in succession to the Professor of Mathematics who retired from the Professorship of Mathematics in 1995. Each subsequent Head shall be appointed according to a scheme agreed by the Departmental Committee, or, in the absence of agreement, by the President after consultation with the Departmental Committee and the Deans of the Faculties of the College.
- 5. The Departmental Committee shall comprise the Head of Department who shall be its Chairperson, together with the other Professors (including Associate Professors), Lecturers, College Lecturers and Junior Lecturers of the Department. The Committee may co-opt, on an annual basis, other members of the academic or other staff of the Department to be members of the Departmental Committee. The Committee shall meet not less than twice per term.
- All members of the academic staff of the Department, and all members of the technical, administrative, secretarial and ancillary staff appointed for duty in the Department, shall carry out their duties under the direction of the Head of the Department.

- 7. The individual Professors (including Associate Professors), Lecturers, College Lecturers and Junior Lecturers of the Department shall have the right to make due, direct representations to the appropriate bodies and authorities of the College.
- 8. Office and laboratory accommodation shall be assigned to each member of academic staff in the Department in accordance with the norms and procedures of the College. The remaining teaching, laboratory and other accommodation shall be Departmental facilities, and their use shall be determined by the Head of Department, subject to the approval of the President.
- 9. At a meeting of the Departmental Committee in the Michaelmas term of each academic year the Head of Department shall present a report on the expenditure of the funds allocated to the Department in the previous year. Proposals for expenditure on capital equipment and the recurring costs of the Department shall be presented on a departmental basis to the appropriate College authority by the Head of Department. Such funds as may be granted to the Department by the authority shall be allocated by the Head of Department.
- 10. Proposals for changes in the terms of this Chapter will be considered by the Governing Body, after their consideration by the relevant faculties and the Academic Council - PROVIDED that no change will be considered within the period of two years from the taking up of duty by the first Head of Department, and PROVIDED that proposals for changes are signed by not less than two-thirds of the serving members of the Departmental Committee. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisos, no statutory right of any individual may be infringed.
- 11. The statutory provisions herein set forth shall be subsumed into the Conditions of Appointment and Particulars of Duties of the existing members, both statutory and non-statutory, of the academic staff of the Department of Mathematics who have assented in writing to such changes in the conditions of appointment attaching to their present posts as may be necessitated by the statutory provisions herein set forth.

THAT IS TO SAY:-

Professor Martin L. Newell, Associate Professor of Mathematics;

An tOllamh Iognáid G. Ó Muircheartaigh, Associate Professor of Statistics (within the Department of Mathematics);

Professor Thaddeus C. Hurley, Associate Professor of Mathematics;

Dr. Anthony Christofides, Lecturer in Mathematics;

Dr. John P. McDermott, Lecturer in Mathematics; Dr. Rex S. Dark, Lecturer in Mathematics;

Dr. Raymond A. Ryan, College Lecturer in Mathematics;

Dr. Graham J. Ellis, College Lecturer in Mathematics;

Dr. Daniel J. O'Regan, College Lecturer in Mathematics;

Dr. James J. Ward, College Lecturer in Mathematics; Dr. Jerome N. Sheahan, College Lecturer in Statistics

(within the Department of Mathematics);

Dr. John M. Burns, Junior Lecturer in Mathematics;

Dr. Aisling E. McCluskey, Junior Lecturer in Mathematics.

12. The Statutory provisions herein set forth shall be further subsumed into the Conditions of Appointment and Particulars of Duties of the future members (if any), both statutory and non-statutory, of the academic staff of the Department of Mathematics.

CHAPTER II

- 1. Nothing herein contained shall affect any appointment made, right acquired or act done under any previous Statute of the College.
- 2. This Statute shall come into operation on the twenty-fourth day of May, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-five, and may be cited as Statute CCXXXIII, University College, Galway, or Stat. CCXXXIII, Univ. Coll., Galway.

Present when the Common Seal of University College, Galway, was affixed hereto:

L.S.

Colm Ó hEocha, Uachtarán Séamus MacMathúna, Rúnaí