The 2022 Alumni Awards were presented at a black tie Gala Banquet in the Bailey Allen Hall, University of Galway on Friday, October 21st.  

The highlight of the evening, which has established itself as a premier national event and one of the key social occasions in the West of Ireland, is the presentation of the annual Alumni Awards. The University of Galway Alumni Awards recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University’s 120,000 graduates worldwide. The awardees are leaders who have demonstrated impact and excellence in their fields on a local, national and international level. Among the distinguished recipients of the Alumni Awards are President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, Gráinne Seoige, Aedhmar Hynes, Eamon Gilmore and Máire Whelan, Ciarán FitzGerald, Olive Loughnane, Marie Mullen and Nicola Coughlan. 

The 2022 Alumni Award Winners below join an impressive roll call of more than 100 outstanding University of Galway alumni....

Tom Kenny, BSc 1966, Director of Kenny’s Bookshop and Art Gallery, Galway. 

Alumni Award for Arts, Literature & Celtic Studies, sponsored by Deloitte.  

Tom Kenny

Aifric Keogh, BSc 2014, Irish Rowing’s first women’s Olympic Medal. 

Alumni Award for Contribution to Sport, sponsored by Bank of Ireland.


Dr. Marie Healy, MB BCh BAO 1982, Director of Critical Care and Divisional Director for Surgery, Royal London Hospital.

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, sponsored by Medtronic.


Mary-Ellen McGroarty, BA 1987, LLB 1993, LLM 2019 and Representative Country Director for the World Food Program, Afghanistan. 

Alumni Award for Law, Public Policy, and Society, sponsored by RDJ.  


Mark Butler, BSc 1987, Executive VP - European Operations, R&D and Strategy, Merit Medical Systems Inc.

Alumni Award for Engineering, Science and Technology.


Ger Rabbette, BComm 1984, CEO of Uniphar PLC. 

Alumni Award for Business and Commerce, sponsored by Bank of Ireland.


Ré Ó Laighléis, BA 1978, Writer, Director of An Scríobhlann.

Gradam Alumni don Ghaeilge, sponsored by University of Galway


Dr. Catherine Ludden, PhD 2014, Director of Operations for the Covid-19 Genomics UK Consortium.

Alumni Award for Emerging Leaders (New for 2022)