The NUI Galway-Abbey Theatre Minute Books Project has been funded and supported by the President’s Office at NUI Galway, the School of Humanities, and the James Hardiman Library.

Project Leader

Professor Patrick Lonergan, Centre for Drama, Theatre and Performance


Patricia O’Beirne, Abbey Digital Archive PhD Fellow

Technology Partner

Cillian Joy, Digital Library, Library, NUI Galway

Website & Brochure Design

Zara Sheerin, Niamh Connolly & Eileen Kennedy, Marketing and Communications

The Abbey Theatre minute books are copyright of the Abbey Theatre and may not be reproduced without permission.

Thank you to the staff of the Abbey Theatre for their support in realising this project.

With thanks to the National Library of Ireland for their assistance with this project.

Abbey Theatre and NUI Galway Digital Archive Partnership Steering Group: Oonagh Desire, Mairéad Delaney, Jessica Traynor, Pauline Swords, Patrick Lonergan, John Cox, Daniel Carey, Barry Houlihan, and Martin Bradley.

Images courtesy of The Abbey Theatre and NUI Galway Archives and Special Collections services.

(Landing Page Images) - Members of the Abbey Theatre company on set, Hollywood, 1937; The Abbey Theatre ‘Irish Players’, Broadway, New York, 1932; Facade of the Old Abbey Theatre, 1913; Old Abbey Theatre Auditorium, 1904; Abbey Theatre minute book, 1908

(Banner Images) - Abbey Theatre Minute Book, 1908; Old Abbey Theatre Auditorium, 1904; Aerial View of Quadrangle NUI Galway; The Abbey Theatre 'Irish Players', Broadway, New York, 1932; Abbey Theatre Archives.