Winners of the new NUI Galway Societies Bursary Announced

Mar 18 2011 Posted: 00:00 GMT
The winners of the newly launched UCG Spirit of 78/80 Socs Bursary were announced at a special ceremony at NUI Galway this week. The NUI Galway Societies Office, in conjunction with the Graduates of 1978 – 1980 awarded bursaries, each worth €1,000, in six different categories. Funding for five of the prizes are provided by NUI Galway graduates from the class of 1978 – 1980 with the Societies Office at NUI Galway funding the sixth prize. The bursaries are a project which fosters cooperation and vision from the past and present to promote student creativity and empowerment within NUI Galway. The bursaries aim to aid the students to pursue their field of interest. The recipients of the bursaries were: Soloist Category: Isaac Burke from Castlebar, Co. Mayo. Groups Category: Orna Ní Bhroin from Foxrock, Dublin and Diarmuid Scahill from Coolough Road, Galway. Performance Category: Dave Rock from Kinvara, Galway Civic Engagement/Charity Volunteering: Julie D lima from Tirellan Heights, Galway. Audience Choice: Adam Guinane from Limerick City; Borja Catellan-Valladolid, Spain; Joe Junker from Ballymore Eustace, Co. Kildare, James Frawley from Mervue, Galway; and Meaghan LaGrandeur from Ottawa, Canada. Judges Choice: Joint winners: Aron Hegarty from Inniscaragh, Co. Cork and Teresa Brennan from Barrow House, Co. Laois. Speaking after the final Riona Hughes, Societies Officer at NUI Galway, said "The evening was a huge success with an amazing array of talent. We are delighted that the NUI Galway Alumni are supporting and helping to nurture our future artists and activists." To find out more about the Societies Bursary visit For more information on the Graduates of 1978-1980 visit


Featured Stories