Eleanor McEvoy to Perform at NUI Galway Alumni Awards 2018

Eleanor McEvoy
Feb 20 2018 Posted: 10:35 GMT

NUI Galway has confirmed that singer songwriter Eleanor McEvoy will perform at the 2018 Alumni Awards. The University also revealed that RTÉ/TG4 presenter and producer Gráinne McElwain will host this year’s Gala Banquet featuring the 2018 Alumni Awards ceremony.

2018 marks the 25th anniversary of the first “A Woman’s Heart” Tour after Eleanor’s composition brought a title, a focus and a hit song to the first Irish album compilation of female contemporary artists.

When not touring, Eleanor plays an active role in cultural life in Ireland. She is a member of the board of Ireland's National Concert Hall which completes the unique circle in Eleanor’s musical life through classical music, traditional Irish music competitions, youth orchestras, choirs, violinist in Ireland’s National Symphony Orchestra before submitting to her prime desire to be a contemporary singer songwriter.

The 2018 Alumni Awards will be presented at the 18th annual Alumni Awards Gala Banquet on Saturday, 3 March, 2018 in the Bailey Allen Hall located in Áras na Mac Léinn on campus.

The Alumni Awards recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University’s more than 90,000 graduates worldwide. The Awards programme boasts an impressive roll call of over 100 outstanding graduates who have gone on to honour their alma mater, including, for example, President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins; Olympian, Olive Loughnane; Rugby great, Ciarán FitzGerald; RTÉ broadcaster, Sean O’Rourke; former Attorney General, Máire Whelan; former Creganna CEO, Helen Ryan, Tony Award-winning actress, Marie Mullen and writer, Mike McCormack.

The winners of the seven alumni awards to be presented at Gala 2018:

Award for Arts, Literature and Celtic Studies - sponsored by Galway University Foundation
- Lisa Coen, Co-founder Tramp Press

Alumni Award for Business and Commerce – sponsored by Bank of Ireland
- Aedhmar Hynes, CEO, Text100

Alumni Award for Law, Public Policy and Government – sponsored by Ronan Daly Jermyn
- Pat Rabbitte, former Leader of the Irish Labour Party and politician

Alumni Award for Engineering, Science and Technology – sponsored by AIB
- Bernard McGuinness, Vice President, Flavor Supply, The Coca-Cola Company

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – sponsored by Medtronic
- Professor Declan Sugrue, Cardiologist, Mater Hospital

Alumni Award for Contribution to Sport – sponsored by Bank of Ireland
- Joe Connolly, Galway Hurler

Gradam Alumni don Ghaeilge – urraithe ag OÉ Gaillimh
- Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh, award-winning poet

For ticket and booking information contact the Alumni Office on 091 492721 or email alumni@nuigalway.ie. Online bookings at www.guf.ie


Marketing and Communications Office

Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories