NUI Galway Announce 2018 Alumni Award Winners

Pictured at the launch of the 18th Alumni Awards at NUI Galway (front row from left): Ailish Gorman, Bank of Ireland; Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, President of NUI Galway; and Adrienne Turley, AIB; (back row from left): Kenneth Deery, AIB; Hugh Hamrock, Bank of Ireland; Susan Treacy, Galway University Foundation; and Padraic Brennan, Ronan Daly Jermyn.
Feb 07 2018 Posted: 14:47 GMT

NUI Galway has announced the winners of the 2018 Alumni Awards to be presented at the 18th annual Alumni Awards Gala Banquet on Saturday, 19 May, 2018 in the Bailey Allen Hall located in Áras na Mac Léinn on campus. The event will be presented by RTÉ/TG4 presenter and producer, Gráinne McElwain.

The Alumni Awards recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University’s more than 90,000 graduates worldwide. The Awards programme boasts an impressive roll call of over 100 outstanding graduates who have gone on to honour their alma mater, including, for example, President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins; Olympian, Olive Loughnane; Rugby great, Ciarán FitzGerald; RTÉ broadcaster, Sean O’Rourke; former Attorney General, Máire Whelan; former Creganna CEO, Helen Ryan, Tony Award-winning actress, Marie Mullen and writer, Mike McCormack.

The winners of the seven alumni awards to be presented at Gala 2018:

Award for Arts, Literature and Celtic Studies - sponsored by Galway University Foundation
- Lisa Coen, Co-founder Tramp Press

Alumni Award for Business and Commerce – sponsored by Bank of Ireland
- Aedhmar Hynes, CEO, Text100

Alumni Award for Law, Public Policy and Government – sponsored by Ronan Daly Jermyn
- Pat Rabbitte, former Leader of the Irish Labour Party and politician

Alumni Award for Engineering, Science and Technology – sponsored by AIB
- Bernard McGuinness, Vice President, Flavor Supply, The Coca-Cola Company

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – sponsored by Medtronic
- Professor Declan Sugrue, Cardiologist, Mater Hospital

Alumni Award for Contribution to Sport – sponsored by Bank of Ireland
- Joe Connolly, Galway Hurler

Gradam Alumni don Ghaeilge – urraithe ag OÉ Gaillimh
- Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh, award-winning poet

Speaking on the announcement of the Award recipients, President of NUI Galway, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh said: “For over 170 years our University has educated graduates of the highest calibre who have gone on to have significant impact in their field of endeavour in Ireland and internationally.

“NUI Galway’s Alumni Awards programme recognises the many Galway alumni who are distinguished leaders, making a difference in the world and for the world.These awards enable the University community to celebrate the life-long value of an NUI Galway education and recognise individual achievements among the University’s more than 90,000 graduates worldwide. I congratulate each of the Award winners and look forward to welcoming them back to their alma mater for the Gala Banquet in March.”

For ticket and booking information contact the Alumni Office on 091 492721 or email Online bookings at


Marketing and Communications Office

Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories