Cancer Centre Accreditation and Designation

‌In 2022 the Saolta University Cancer Network became a member of the Organisation of European Cancer Institutes and entered the accreditation process. We are undertaking this accreditation process to improve the quality of our cancer care, research and education. 

Saolta University Cancer Network and OECI Teams

Prof Michael Kerin Cancer MCAN Director
Prof Maccon Keane (Galway)
Dr Joseph Martin (Galway)
Dr Margaret Murray (Galway)
Dr Gerry O’Dowd (Letterkenny)
Prof Kevin Barry (Mayo)
Dr Andrew Hodgson (Sligo)
Cancer MCAN Associate Clinical Directors
Geraldine Cooley Cancer MCAN General Manager
Olive Gallagher Cancer MCAN Director of Nursing 
Louise Carmody Cancer MCAN Data Manager
Pauline McGough Cancer MCAN Business Manager 
Jackie Lillis Cancer MCAN Quality and Patient Safety Coordinator   
Gearoid McGann  Cancer MCAN Executive Administrator
Helen O'Reilly OECI Accreditation Manager
Emer Hennessy Cancer Centre Research Manager (University)
Prof Aoife Lowery Clinical Research Lead (CRF/University)
Dr Roisin Dwyer and Dr Aideen Ryan Translational Research Leads (University)
Dr Nicola Miller Biobanking Lead (University)


Saolta University Cancer Network Scientific Advisory Board

Prof Frank Gannon (Chair) Former Director EMBO, SFI, and QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute.
Ms Jaqueline Daly 

Director, East Galway-Midlands Cancer Support Centre, Ireland

Prof William Gallagher

Professor of Cancer Biology, UCD and Director All-Island Cancer Research Institute, Ireland

Prof Mark Lawler

Professor of Digital Health and Chair in Translational Cancer Genomics, QUB

Dr Roisin O’Cearbhaill

Research Director, Gynecologic Medical Oncology, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, USA

Prof M. Sharon Stack

Director, Harper Cancer Research Institute, University of Notre Dame, USA