Recognition for Ireland’s Scientists

Nick Johns, Product Manager Ireland from Air Products, presenting the award for Pharmaceutical Laboratory of the Year to Professor Robert Lahue, NUI Galway, for The Lahue Lab, Centre for Chromosome Biology, NUI Galway.
Dec 17 2013 Posted: 14:24 GMT

NUI Galway’s Professor Robert Lahue receives Pharmaceutical Laboratory of the Year award

The inaugural Irish Laboratory Awardstook place before an audience of almost 400 scientists drawn from industry, State and education sectors. The awards were supported by Science Foundation Ireland, Teagasc, IDA and media-partnered with the Irish Independent.

NUI Galway’s Professor Robert Lahue Pharmaceutical Laboratory of the Year Award for The Lahue Lab, Centre for Chromosome Biology, NUI Galway.

The need for the awards was signalled through the volume and diversity of entries. Judging Co-ordinator, Dr Catherine Dempsey, said “These awards were sorely needed. We know from the hugely successful Young Scientists Competition that recognition is a key enabler of fund raising and career progress. With over 100 entries in year one, the size and scope of the Lab Awards took us all a little by surprise. 2014 is going to be even bigger.”

The judges said, “The Immune Regulation Group was a very strong collection of fantastic researchers, and was highly rated in one of Ireland’s most competitive areas of research. The group has secured more than €25 million of research grants and has published 155 peer- reviewed papers in the last 20 years.”

Full a full review of the winners and to view the awards night video visit the official website for the Irish Laboratory Awards 2013.

The awards were judged by:

Dr Catherine Dempsey- Judging Co-Ordinator

Dr Aoife McLysaght, Smurfit Institute of Genetics

Dr Barry Heavey, IDA Ireland

Dr Kevin Kavanagh, NUIM

Dr Fionnuala Hickey, Trinity Health Kidney Centre

Leonard Hobbs, Intel Ireland

Dr Paul Simmons, Enfer Group

Professor Declan McLoughlin, St. Patrick’s University Hospital & TCD

Dr Kaye Burgess, Teagasc Food Research Centre

Professor John Cryan, UCC

Dr Paul Duffy, Pfizer Pharmaceuticals

Professor Brian Glennon, UCD

Mary Mullaghy, ISTA

Dr Andrew Roche, ICON Central Laboratories

Dr Marie Coggins, NUI Galway

Dr Keith O Neill, Enterprise Ireland

Dr Graeme Horley, SFI


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories