‌Research in Psychology aims to describe, explain, and predict human behaviour. The range of questions addressed varies enormously, from very fundamental questions about perception, to applied questions about health. Across these questions, psychology research is unified by a scientifically rigorous approach to understanding human experience. This is done based on empirical observations made at both a behavioural and neural level.

The school is extremely fortunate to have a critical mass of academic staff, research fellows, and postgraduate students working in both school led clusters and university wide research centres. Across these activities we collaborate widely with other international academic research centres of excellence, and our work is generously sponsored.‌

The School of Psychology Research Ethics Committee
The School Research Ethics Committee (SREC) complements the work of the University Research Ethics Committee (REC). Whereas the REC oversees all ethical matters arising from research undertaken by staff and PhD students, the SREC oversees ethical approval for research arising from academic programmes other than doctoral theses and not otherwise referred to the REC, which includes:
  • Final Year Psychology Projects
  • MSc in Applied Behaviour Analysis
  • MSc in Health Psychology
  • Research elements (not referred to the REC) of the Doctor of Psychological Science (Clinical Psychology) and Doctor of Applied Behaviour Analysis.

Download the School of Psychology Research Ethics Application Form

Membership of the SREC include:
  • The Chair of the SREC (core member).
  • Head of the School of Psychology/Established Professor or nominee (core member).
  • The Director (or nominee) of the Final Year Projects, the MSc/Doctorate in Applied Behaviour Analysis, the MSc in Health Psychology, and the Doctor of Psychological Science (Clinical Psychology) (core members).
  • Other members (non-core) as may be deemed appropriate from time-to-time (e.g., seconding of persons with expertise relevant to the assessment of particular applications).
  • A quorum consists of a minimum of 4 core members.
The current chair of the SREC is Prof. Gary Donohoe, email: gary.donohoe@nuigalway.ie