University structure

The three pillars of the organisational structure of NUI Galway are:

  Scroll down to find out more about their duties and membership

  Or click here to learn more about University Governance

Údarás na hOllscoile

Údarás na hOllscoile, the University’s Governing Authority, is charged with the overall governance of the University in accordance with the Universities Act 1997. It provides active strategic direction and leadership to enable the University to succeed in its mission of education and research.

It has an external chair and a broad range of members drawn from different constituencies, inside and outside the university community. 

  Click here for an up-to-date list of members, committees and other resources

Academic Council

Academic Council plays a critical role in setting the academic direction of the University. It meets regularly to consider reports from all of the core academic and academic support units, and make decisions on matters of academic policy, procedures and planning.

Academic Council also provides advice to Údarás na hOllscoile in respect of academic matters, through regular formal reports to the Governing Authority.

Members of the Academic Council

  Click here for an up-to-date list of members, committees and other resources

University Management Team

This team is led by the President who is the Head and Chief officer of the University and appointed for a 10-year period. Acting under the President, the various members of the University Management Team (UMT) each have a specific area of responsibility.

Members of the UMT

President Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh
Deputy President and Registrar Professor Pól Ó Dochartaigh
Bursar / Chief Financial Officer Sharon Bailey
Vice-President: Equality and Diversity Dr Helen Maher
Vice-President: International Professor Becky Whay
Vice-President: Engagement     
Vice-President: Research and Innovation Professor Jim Livesey
Chief Operating Officer John Gill
Secretary for Governance & Academic Affairs Caroline Loughnane
Director of Human Resources Josephine Hynes
Dean of Graduate Studies Professor Dónal Leech
Dean of Students Professor Ciara Meehan
Executive Dean of the College of Arts, Social Sciences, and Celtic Studies Professor Rebecca Braun
Executive Dean of the College of Business, Public Policy and Law Professor Geraint Howells
Executive Dean of the College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences Professor Martin O'Donnell
Executive Dean of the College of Science and Engineering Professor Walter Gear   

UMT Reclaimed Expenses

Executive Deans of Colleges & Heads of Schools

Latest news

Read the latest news about the University.

Quick facts


University of Galway has:

  • 4 Colleges
  • 19 Schools
  • 5 Research Institutes
  • over 19,000 students
  • 4,000 international students from 116 countries
  • almost 3,000 staff members
  • over 4,600  links with institutes across the globe
  • 110,000 alumni worldwide
  • 175 years experience providing university education

University of Galway Is:

  • The Sunday Times University of the Year 2022
  • Ireland's top University for graduate employability with 98% of our graduates employed or in further study within six months of graduating
  • ranked in the top 2% of universities worldwide - QS World University Ranking 
  • the largest and oldest university in the west of Ireland
  • listed among the top 30 most beautiful campuses in Europe
  • Ireland's leading university for student volunteering with more than 4,000 registered volunteers 
  • the most biodiverse campus in Ireland

University of Galway is world leading for research in:

  • Biomedical Science and Engineering
  • Web Science
  • Human Rights
  • Marine Science, Energy and Environmental Science
  • Applied Social Sciences and Public Policy
    Humanities, in particular, Literature, Theatre and Irish Studies