Annual Doctoral Seminars

22nd Annual Doctoral Seminar Program (2023)

The annual doctoral seminar at the Irish Centre for Human Rights took place at the University of Galway in April 2023. Participating experts this year were Prof Sumi Mahdok of the London School of Economics, Dr Mark Kersten from the University of the Fraser Valley, and Dr Noemi Magugliani of Kent Law School, and a recent graduate of the PhD
programme at the Irish Centre for Human Rights. In addition to participating in the research seminars delivered by the visiting experts, PhD students each presented on their own research, and gained valuable feedback from the visitors, staff and fellow students. Prof Geraint Howells welcomed all the participants on the opening day, emphasising the importance and value of such events for PhD students at the University of Galway.

Doctoral Seminar 2023

21st Annual Doctoral Seminar Program (2022)

The annual doctoral seminar at the Irish Centre for Human Rights was held in-person from 16-20 May 2022. Professor Ray Murphy welcomed all the participants to the 21st iteration of this event, which is the highpoint of the academic year for the Centre’s doctoral community. Prof Yvonne McDermott, Swansea University, provided some opening remarks at the first session and commented upon the presentations. Over twenty PhD students from the Centre, as well as from the School of Law and the Centre for Disability Law and Policy, presented on their doctoral research over the course of the week on a range of topics in the fields of human rights, refugee and migration law, humanitarian law and international criminal law.

Annual Doctoral Seminar 2022

Irish Centre for Human Rights Annual Doctoral Seminar


Prof Yvonne McDermott, Swansea University


Dr Roja Fazaeli, Trinity College Dublin
Dr Daniel Aguirre, Roehampton University
Dr Silvia Gagliardi, University College Dublin
Dr Mesenbet Assefa, Addis Ababa University


Professor Ratna Kapur, QMW / Harvard / Symbiosis, Pune
Professor Noam Lubell, University of Essex
Dr Lars Waldorf, University of Dundee


Professor Jaya Ramji-Nogales, Temple University
Professor Diane Marie Amann, University of Georgia
Dr. John Reynolds, Maynooth University
Professor William Schabas, Middlesex University


Professor Marsha Freeman, University of Minnesota
Professor Anthony Anghie, University of Utah
Dr Yvonne McDermott, Bangor University


Professor Surya Deva, City University Hong Kong
Professor Fiona de Londras, Professor of Global Legal Studies, Deputy Head of Birmingham Law School
Dr. Brian Farrell, University of Iowa


Professor Yutaka Arai Takahashi, University of Kent at Brussels
Dr. Annyssa Bellal, Geneva Call
Professor Jeroen Temperman, Erasmus University Rotterdam


Professor Bill Bowring, Birkbeck, University of London
Professor Siobhán Mullally, Centre for Human Rights and Criminal Justice, University College Cork
Dr. Edel Hughes, University of East London


Professor Martti Koskenniemi, Director of the Erik Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights,
Professor William Schabas, Honorary Chairman of the Irish Centre for Human Rights
Dr. Michelle Farrell, Senior Lecturer at Liverpool University


Michael O'Flaherty, Human Rights Law Centre, University of Nottingham
Professor Suzannah Linton, Bangor University, Wales
 Dr. David Keane (Middlesex University, London), and Professor Koen De Feyter (University of Antwerp, Netherlands)


Dr. Patricia Sellers, Legal Advisor for Gender Related Crimes and Deputy Head of the Legal Advisory Section, Office of the Prosecutor, UN, ICTY, International Criminal Prosecutor Special Legal Advisor to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
Professor Ian Scobbie, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London


Professor David Weissbrodt, University of Minnesota Human Rights Center
Dr. Jérémie Gilbert, Senior Lecturer, Middlesex University
Professor Sir Nigel Rodley, Professor of Law and Chair of the Human Rights Centre at the University of Essex


Dr. Michael Kearney, University of York
Professor Douglass Cassel, Director of Notre Dame Law School, Center for Civil and Human Rights
Professor Louis Wolcher, Charles I. Stone Professor of Law, University of Washington School of Law


Professor Anita Ramasastry, Associate Prof. University of Washington School of Law
Professor Alfred De Zayas, Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations; former UN senior lawyer
Professor Semih Gemalmaz, University of Istanbul


Professor Kevin Boyle, Director, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex
Professor Ralph Steinhardt, The George Washington University Law School
Professor Francois Crepeau, University of Montreal


Dr. Christina Cerna, Georgetown University
Professor David Forsythe, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Justice Richard J. Goldstone, former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa, Fordham University
Professor Zoran Paijic, King's College London


Professor Fionnuala Ní Aoláin, University of Ulster
Professor David Kretzmer, Hebrew University
Professor Alexandre Sicilianos, University of Athens
Dr. Markus Schmidt, Human Rights Committee