NUIG Internal Moot Court Final 2014

The victorious team of Daniel Doyle and Liam King being presented with their trophy by Mr. Justice Henry Abbott
Feb 10 2014 Posted: 09:38 GMT
The Moot Court Module final took place on Saturday 1 February with the victorious team of Daniel Doyle and Liam King narrowly overcoming Mary Ann Sullivan and Maggie MacAoghusa in a tense final moot which exhibited everything that is positive about mooting before an initial bench comprising of Gerry Burke BL, Ronan Murphy Solicitor and Maria Dillon Solicitor and Mr. Justice Henry Abbott in the Final.
The School would like to thank all four judges, in particular Mr. Justice Abbott who travelled down from Dublin, for their time and effort. Special tribute to the sixteen mooters for their application, effort and enthusiasm over the last five months which culminated in some fantastic mooting.  
Thanks to all the members of staff who so generously gave of their time, in particular Ursula Ni Chonghaile for drafting the interesting Moot fact pattern, Tom O’Malley for giving guest lectures and Rónán Kennedy who was kind enough to address the Class and give them critical feedback in relation to their draft submissions.
The team mentors were Diarmuid Griffin, Charles O’Mahony, Nicola Murphy, Dr. Noelle Higgins, Shivaun Quinlivan, Thomas Mc Donagh, Dr. Joe McGrath and Larry Donnelly with Noelle and Nicola’s teams battling in the final and Noelle’s team emerging victorious.

Lughaidh Kerin


Featured Stories