* Registration Now Open * The Irish Civil War 1922-23 and the Evolving Laws of War

Mar 09 2023 Posted: 17:04 GMT

On Friday 21 April 2023, the Irish Centre for Human Rights in the School of Law at the University of Galway will host a one-day conference exploring the Irish Civil War 1922-23 within the framework of the laws of war and against the backdrop of developments concerning international regulation of internal conflicts. The laws of war were frequently invoked during the Irish Civil War 1922-23, often in the condemnation of the execution of prisoners or other reprisal measures, notwithstanding that contemporary international law was not considered formally applicable to internal conflicts at that time. Nascent attempts were being made at the international level to expand the scope of the laws of war, with the Tenth International Conference of the Red Cross in 1921 adopting a resolution urging a greater role for humanitarian organisations during civil wars, as well as a call for political prisoners to be afforded treatment similar to that of prisoners of war in such conflicts.

*** Registration now open *** 

This is an in-person event and while there is no fee to register, places are limited. Please register on Eventbrite at https://www.eventbrite.ie/e/the-irish-civil-war-1922-1923-and-the-evolving-laws-of-war-tickets-579256460667

Summer School on the ICC 2023

The conference will explore legal, political and judicial debates concerning the application of the laws of war during the Civil War and the role of various individuals, groups and organisations in this context. Topics covered will include the question of prisoner of war status for captured anti-Treaty forces, the relevance of the doctrine of reprisals in wartime, and the role of the International Committee of the Red Cross during the Irish Civil War.

For more information, download the programme here: The Irish Civil War and the Laws of War Conference Programme

Speakers include:

  • Dr John O’Callaghan, Atlantic Technological University
  • Dr Mary McAuliffe, University College Dublin
  • Dr Anthony Cullen, University of Middlesex
  • Rémi Fuhrmann, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Lia Brazil, University of Oxford
  • Professor Kimberly Lowe, Lesley University
  • Professor Shane Darcy, University of Galway