Prizes for outstanding results in Classics

The Athenry Prizes were made possible by a generous donation of the late Professor Margaret Heavey to the University. A native of Athenry, Professor Heavey was Lecturer in Ancient Classics in the University from 1931 to 1958, and Professor of Ancient Classics from 1958 to 1977. During the period 1970 to 1976 she was Dean of the Faculty of Arts. She died on 15 February, 1980.

In order to be eligible for the award of a prize, a student must pass the examination at which the prize is awarded.

In terms of the course structures obtaining in Classics academic disciplines from autumn 2010, the prizes are awarded to the students who obtain the highest marks in the following academic disciplines at the examinations indicated:

  • Classics: First Arts
  • Classics: Second Arts
  • Classics: Third Arts

In certain years an additional prize may be awarded to the student showing the most distinguished performance in Latin papers at Beginners’ or Intermediate level. This last prize may be awarded to a student registered for the BA, for the MA (Classical Civilisation), or for the MA (Medieval Studies).

The value of each prize is €300.