Latest updated 10.7 2023

The Retired Staff Association (RSA) is open to all retired staff of NUI Galway.  Please see the Announcements page, under 'Communications', for details about receiving notifications from the RSA after you retire.


The RSA's main objectives are to

-  help retired staff maintain contact with one another by organizing events of interest
-  provide retired staff with information
-  strengthen the relationship between retired staff and the University
-  support and promote the mission of the University

Committee 2023

The RSA Committee  continued to meet virtually following the first lock-down in 2020, and maintained a scaled-down schedule of events and activities, as well as liaising with the University on matters of particular interest to retired staff. Since early 2022 the RSA has been returning to a fuller schedule.  For events and activities currently planned see Announcements on this site.

Committee members as of January 2023 :

Rosaleen Carroll
Patsy Clancy
Donal Igoe
Séamus Mac Mathúna
Pat Morgan   (Chair)
Seán O'Farrell     
Padraig O hEalai
Liz Walsh (Treasurer)
Noel Wilkins









The Committee usually meets every four to six weeks, except in July and August. Its members normally serve for 4 years or less.

It organizes events and activities during the year (see Announcements and Archived News & Events (2013-2020)) and maintains contact with retired staff via email and this website.

The University provides assistance to the RSA, through the much appreciated work of the Management Services Office in a number of areas such as: having refreshments provided at the monthly Agallamh na Seanórach meetings; arranging car parking for retired staff attending those monthly meetings; and generally providing access to information and facilitating contacts within the University. However, we expect that a number of these services may be cut back with changes in University organisation.

The RSA usually holds its Annual General Meeting to coincide with the February Agallamh na Seanórach. but may well be later this year.


As approved at the 2015 AGM.

Constitution of the NUI Galway Retired Staff Association

1. Title

The name of the Association shall be the NUI Galway Retired Staff Association (RSA) or Agallamh na Seanórach, Ollscoil na hÉireann Gaillimh.

2. Membership

All retired members of staff are entitled to membership of the NUI Galway Retired Staff Association.

3. Aims

The objectives of the RSA include the following:

-  Help retired staff maintain contact with one another by organizing events of interest
-  Provide retired staff with information
-  Strengthen the relationship between retired staff and the University
-  Support and promote the mission of the University.

4. Committee

A Committee shall manage the RSA on behalf of its members. The Committee will usually consist of no more than seven members. Vacancies on the Committee may be filled at the Annual General Meeting or by co-option.

Officers of the Committee shall normally comprise the Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. Committee meetings will normally be chaired by the Chairperson.

Term of office: The term for Committee members will normally be limited to four years.

5. Annual General Meeting

Notice of an Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be given to members, who may, in advance of the meeting, submit motions for consideration at the AGM. Amendments, deletions or additions to the Constitution should be submitted to the RSA at least 48 hours prior to the commencement of the AGM. Changes to the Constitution will require a simple majority at the AGM.

Bunreacht do Chomhlachas na gComhaltaí Foirne ar Scor / Agallamh na Seanórach in Ollscoil na hÉireann, Gaillimh

1. Teideal

Is é Agallamh na Seanórach, Ollscoil na hÉireann, Gaillimh ainm an Chomhlachais sa Ghaeilge agus NUI Galway Retired Staff Association (RSA) ainm an Chomhlachais sa Bhéarla.

2. Comhaltas

Tá na comhaltaí foirne uile atá ar scor i dteideal a bheith ina gcomhaltaí d'Agallamh na Seanórach in Ollscoil na hÉireann, Gaillimh.

3. Aidhmeanna

Áirítear na cuspóirí seo a leanas ar chuspóirí Agallamh na Seanórach:

-   Imeachtaí inspéise a eagrú mar bheart a chabhróidh le comhaltaí foirne atá ar scor fanacht i dteagmháil lena chéile
-   Eolas a chur ar fáil do chomhaltaí foirne atá ar scor
-   An gaol idir na comhaltaí foirne atá ar scor agus an Ollscoil a neartú
-   Misean na hOllscoile a chothú agus a chur chun cinn

4. An Coiste

Déanfaidh an Coiste Agallamh na Seanórach a bhainistiú thar ceann na gcomhaltaí. Seachtar comhaltaí, ar a mhéad, a bheidh ar an gCoiste de ghnáth. Féadfar folúntais ar an gCoiste a líonadh ag an gCruinniú Cinn Bhliana nó trí chomhthoghadh.

Is iad an Cathaoirleach, an Rúnaí agus an Cisteoir na hoifigigh a bheidh ar an gCoiste de ghnáth. An Cathaoirleach a bheidh i bhfeighil chruinnithe an Choiste de ghnáth.

Téarma oifige: Ceithre bliana, ar a mhéad, is ea téarma comhaltaí an Choiste de ghnáth.

5. Cruinniú Cinn Bhliana

Tabharfar fógra faoi Chruinniú Cinn Bhliana do na comhaltaí; féadfaidh comhaltaí, roimh an gcruinniú, tairiscintí a chur chun cinn lena mbreithniú ag an gCruinniú Cinn Bhliana. Ba cheart aon mhír sa Bhunreacht atá le leasú nó le scrios nó aon mhír nua atá le cur sa Bhunreacht a chur faoi bhráid Agallamh na Seanórach 48 uair an chloig, ar a laghad, roimh thús an Chruinnithe Cinn Bhliana. Athruithe a bheidh le cur ar an mBunreacht, beidh tromlach simplí ag teastáil lena n-aghaidh ag an gCruinniú Cinn Bhliana.



Members' suggestions

Suggestions about events, activities, issues for discussion, and content for these webpages, are very welcome. So are news items and photographs for the Archived News & Events (2013-2020) page. Please send them to

If you have suggestions for issues to discuss or events to organize please contact any of the Committee members (contact details above).