Head of School

 

All Staff in the School of Natural Sciences

Academic Staff

Name  Email Address  Subject Area  Ext No Location
Louise Allcock louise.allcock@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology  2322 Room 213, MR Building
Karen Bacon karen.bacon@universityofgalway.ie  Botany/Plant Science  3208 Room 319, MR Building
Sadhbh Baxter sadhbh.baxter@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  5962 Room A104, Quadrangle 
Aoife Boyd aoife.boyd@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology 2402 Room 207, Arts/Science Building
Ray Butler ray.butler@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  3788 PHY152, Arts/Science Building 
Miriam Byrne miriam.byrne@universityofgalway.ie Physics  3394 PHY223, Arts/Science Building
Caitriona Carlin caitriona.carlin@universityofgalway.ie  Environmental Science  3863 ES206, Arts/Science Building 
Rachel Cave rachel.cave@universityofgalway.ie Earth & Ocean Sciences  2351 Room 210a, Quadrangle
Marie Coggins marie.coggins@universityofgalway.ie Physics  5056 PHY233, Arts/Science Building 
Liz Coleman  mary.coleman@universityofgalway.ie  Physics    PHY241, Arts/Science Building
Niall Colgan  niall.colgan@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  3393 PHY145, Arts/Science Building
Peter Croot peter.croot@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  2194 Room 207b, Quadrangle
John Dalton  johnpius.dalton@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology  4437 Room 217, Orbsen Building 
Eve Daly eve.daly@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  2310 Room A104a, Quadrangle 
Nicholas Devaney nicholas.devaney@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  5188 PHY242, Arts/Science Building 
Michel Dugon  michel.dugon@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology  4491 Room 214, MR Building
Jessamyn Fairfield jessamyn.fairfield@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2494 PHY205, Arts/Science Building 
Mark Foley mark.foley@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  5383 PHY144, Arts/Science Building 
Jessica Gier jessica.gier@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  5705 PHY213, Arts/Science Building 
Gary Gillanders gary.gillanders@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2529 PHY146, Arts/Science Building 
Aaron Golden  aaron.golden@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2327  
Alexander Goncharov  alexander.goncharov@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  5189 PHY244, Arts/Science Building 
Michael Gormally mike.gormally@universityofgalway.ie  Environmental Science  3334 ES207, Arts/Science Building 
Anthony Grehan  anthony.grehan@univerityofgalway.ie Earth & Ocean Sciences  3235 Room A105, Quadrangle 
Kevin Healy kevin.healy@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology  3744 Room 219, MR Building
Tiernan Henry tiernan.henry@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  5096 Room A205, Quadrangle
Mark Johnson  mark.johnson@universityofgalway.ie  Marine Science  5864 Room 202, Martin Ryan Annex
Gesche Kindermann gesche.kindermann@universityofgalway.ie  Environmental Science  3862 ES206, Arts/Science Building
Christoph Kleefeld  christoph.kleefeld@universityofgalway.ie Physics  4450 PHY147, Arts/Science Building
Mark Lang  mark.lang@universityofgalway.ie Physics  3241 PHY151, Arts/Science Building
Colin Lawton  colin.lawton@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology  2335 Room 215, MR Building
Martin Leahy martin.leahy@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  4260 PHY162, Arts/Science Building 
Grace McCOrmack  grace.mccormack@universityofgalway.ie Zoology  2321 Room 222, MR Building 
Liam Morrison  liam.morrison@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  3200 Room 310, MR Building
John Murray john.murray@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  5095 Room A209, Quadrangle
Gerard O'Connor gerard.oconnor@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2513 PHY174, Arts/Science Building 
Colin O'Dowd colin.odowd@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  3306 PHY241a, Arts/Science Building 
Jurgita Ovadnevaite jurgita.ovadnevaite@universityofgalway.ie Physics  2496 PHY237, Arts/Science Building 
Zoe Popper zoe.popper@universityofgalway.ie  Botany/Plant Science  5431 Room 319, MR Building
Anne Marie Power annemarie.power@universityofgalway.ie  Zoology  3015 Room 226, MR Building
Matt Redmann matt.redmann@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  3357 PHY245, Arts/Science Building
Yury Rochev yury.rochev@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2806 PHY163, Arts/Science Building 
Alan Ryder alan.ryder@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2943 Room 213, Arts/Science Building
Patricia Scully patricia.scully@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  2717 PHY153, Arts/Science Building 
Dagmar Stengel dagmar.stengel@universityofgalway.ie  Botany/Plant Science  3192 Room 318, MR Building
Shane Tyrrell shane.tyrrell@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  4387 Room A204, Quadrangle
Joan Walsh joan.walsh@universityofgalway.ie  Physics    PHY245, Arts/Science Building
Brian Ward bward@universityofgalway.ie  Physics  3029 PHY238, Arts/Science Building
Martin White martin.white@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Ocean Sciences  3214 Room A207c, Quadrangle

Researchers

Name Email Address Subject Area Location 
Sergey Alexandrov sergey.alexandrov@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY101c Arts/Science Building
Yvonne Barrett yvonne.barrett@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
Oisin Callery oisin.callery@universityofgalway.ie EOS A200, Quadrangle Building
Darius Ceburnis darius.ceburnis@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY229, Arts/Science Building
Alan Conneely alan.conneely@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY173 Arts/Science Building
Alison Connolly alison.connolly@universityofgalway.ie  Physics PHY234 Arts/Science Building
John Dunbar j.dunbar2@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 114b, MR Building
Nazar Farid nazar.farad@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY171, Arts/Science Building
Fatimatuk Zohora Sonny fatimatujzohara.sonny@universityofgalway.ie EOS Room 103, MR Building
Kirsten Fossum kirsten.fossum@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
Siobhán Gaughan siobhan.gaughan@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 313, Orbsen Building
Heather Jewhurst heather.jewhurst@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 313, Orbsen Building 
Renuka Kavutharapu renuka.kavutharapu@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
Robert Kennedy bob.kenneday@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 218, MR Building
Aliakbar Khorshad, aliakbar.khorshad@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY207, Arts/Science Building
Claire Laguionie-Marchais claire.laguionie-marchais@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 114B, MR Building
Fanny Lalegerie fanny.lalegerie@universityofgalway.ie Botany/Plant Science  Room 324, MR Building
Keelan Lawlor keelan.lawlor@universityofgalway.ie Botany/Plant Science  Room 311, MR Building
Chunshui Lin chunshui.lin@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
Jesus Lopez jesus.lopez@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 313, Orbsen Building
Damien Martin damien.martin@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY230, Arts/Science Building
Aedin McAleer aedin.mcaleer@universityofgalway.ie EOS Room 305, MR Building
Ian McCabe ian.mccabe@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
James McGrath james.a.mcgrath@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY235 Arts/Science Building
Mark Neary mark.neary@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
Cormac O'Brien cormac.obrien@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY164 Arts/Science Building
Martin Sharkey martin.sharkey@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY234, Arts/Science Building
Yinka Somorin  yinka.somorin@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY172, Arts/Science Building
Gerard Spain gerard.spain@universityofgalway.ie Physics Arts/Science Building
Nina Wemken  nina.wemken@universityofgalway.ie  Physics PHY235 Arts/Science Building
Ryan Young  ryan.young@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 114b, MR Building

Adjunct Staff

Dr Andrew McCarthy
EMBL Grenoble Outstation
71, avenue des Martyrs
CS 90181
38042 Grenoble Cedex 9
France

Tel: +33 4 76 20 7276
Email: andrewmc@embl.fr

Dr  Irena Dornreiter
Heinrich-Pette-Institut
Leibniz-Institut für Experimentelle Virologie (HPI)
Martinistrasse 52
D-20251
Hamburg
Germany 

Tel: +49 40 679 2731
Email: irena.dornreiter@comcast.net

Technical Staff

Name Email Address  Subject Area Location 
Darius Ceburnis darius.ceburnis@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY229, Arts/Science Building
Derek Coburn derek.coburn@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY155, Arts/Science Building 
Alessandra Costanzo alessandra.costanzo@universityofgalway.ie Earth & Ocean Sciences  Room A210, Quadrangle 
Bridget Cullagh bridget.cullagh@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY154, Arts/Science Building
Maeve Edwards maeve.edwards@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 204, MR Building
Sheena Fennell sheena.fennell@universityofgalway.ie Earth & Ocean Sciences  Room 317, MR Building
Stuart Anthony Harries stuart.harries@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY157, Arts/Science Building
Eoin Mac Loughlin eoin.loughlin@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 216, MR Building
Aedín McAleer aedín.mcaleer@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 204, MR Building 
Conor Mc Brierty conor.brierty@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY156, Arts/Science Building
Padraic Moran padraic.moran@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY154, Arts/Science Building
James Nallen james.nallen@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY157, Arts/Science Building
Dariusz Nowak dariusz.nowak@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 204, MR Building
Eoin O'Connor eoin.o'connor@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY156, Arts/Science Building
Elaine O'Riordan elaine.o'riordan@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 217, MR Building 
Shane Rooney shane.rooney@universityofgalway.ie Earth & Ocean Sciences  Room A200a, Quadrangle 
Oliver Ryan oliver.ij.ryan@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY155, Arts/Science Building 

Administrative Staff

Name  Email Address  Subject Area  Location
Susan Gallagher susan.gallagher@universityofgalway.ie  Earth & Life Sciences  Room 213a, MR Building
Lorraine Leahy lorraine.leahy@universityofgalway.ie Zoology Room 324, MR Building
Helena Martin helena.martin@universityofgalway.ie Botany/Plant Science & Env Science Room 324, MR Building 
Lorna Larkin lorna.larkin@universityofgalway.ie Earth & Ocean Sciences  Room A208, Quadrangle
Rebecca Nolan rebecca.nolan@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY224, Arts/Science Building 
Cáit Fahy cait.fahy@universityofgalway.ie Physics PHY224, Arts/Science Building 

Staff Profiles

Head of School

Professor Grace McCormack

Room 222, Martin Ryan Building 

Tel: + 353 91 492321

e-Mail: HoS_NS@universityofgalway.ie

 School Administrator

Susan Gallagher

Room 213A, Martin Ryan Building 

Tel: + 353 91 492520

E-mail: susan.gallagher@universityofgalway.ie