NUI Galway is the first university in Ireland to join the SEAI Sustainable Energy Communities Network. A SEC embraces an inclusive and community approach, across all sectors, to develop a sustainable energy system. To do so, SECs aim to be energy efficient, to use renewable energy where feasible and to develop decentralised energy supplies. By joining the SEC Network, NUI Galway commits to knowledge sharing with SEC members and to developing and implementing energy-saving initiatives. Joining the SEC network offers many benefits to NUI Galway (and community partners), including: the potential for energy and financial savings by implementing energy efficiency initiatives; an opportunity to promote community building through a partnership approach, where resources and expertise are shared across the network; an opportunity to contribute to national energy reduction targets; to assist in the development of sustainable energy supplies through investment and installation of renewable energy technology.

The NUI Galway SEAI Energy Team 2019

SEAI Public Sector leadership shortlisting – twice for the SEAI Awards.

SEAI Energy Team 2019
Front Row: L-R, Fergal Murray, Lorraine Rushe, President Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, Michael Curran, John Gill, Peter Dooley
Back Row: L-R, Patrick Diviney, John Harrington, Anthony Flaherty, John Gibney, Sean Farrell, Tony Nevin, Noel O' Connor, Micheal O Tuairsig, Adrian Flaherty, Karl Byrne and Kenny O' Toole.

Sustainable Energy Community Charter for Better Energy in NUI Galway 

On 7th February 2020, President Ó hÓgartaigh signed, on behalf of the University, the Sustainable Energy Community Charter (SEC)‌ with Patrick McHugh Director, Clár Éifeachtacht Fuinnimh, Co na Gaillimhe and Ms. Ruth Buggie, SEC Programme Manager, SEAI.

Better Energy Charter Team
Front Row L-R: Patrick McHugh Director, Clár Éifeachtacht Fuinnimh, Co na Gaillimhe  President Ciarán Ó hOgartaigh,  
Ms. Ruth Buggie, SEC Programme Manager, SEAI
Back Row L-R: Ms Mairin Ui Rainne,  Mr Noel Brady, Mr John B Smith, Noel O' Connor, John Caufield, Lorraine Rushe and Michael Curran.